I wrote this for my sons today..

been a while since I wrote poetry.

I want to teach you..
Dedicated to my sons.

I want to teach you that education is not just about being in a classroom and learning can be done in so many ways.

I want to teach you that there’s beauty and joy to be found in the things around us, even if you can’t find it the first time around.

I want to teach you that there’s more to our beautiful country ready to be explored.

I want to teach you that being compassionate, kind, respectful isn’t a weakness.

I want to teach you that being a real man means that you are a helpmate, not a lord and master.

I want to teach you that skin colour and religion do not make a person lesser or better, only more interesting.

I want to teach you that no one can make you feel less than you are, unless you let them.

I want to teach you that balance in the way you live is a good level to reach.

I want to teach you that you can stand up for what you believe in, especially for those who have no voice, but pick your battles and always maintain your calm.

I want to teach you that our heritage may be from all over, celebrate it but who we are, is Malaysian and never let anyone tell you any different.

I want to teach you that it’s ok to be different, to dream, to believe, but never lose sight of your humanity.

I want to teach you to tidy your rooms without being told, but I’m not holding my breath on this one.

I want to teach you that love comes in all forms, and isn’t perfect, but can be a great source of comfort and inspiration.

I want to teach you to continue your love of life, the curiosity in how things work or to pursue learning, whatever the method.

I want the best for you, to give you a future, whatever you choose to do.

Always believe that no matter how old you are, you can make a difference and to change things for the better, no matter how small a step you take.

I want to teach you all these things and so much more so you can grow up to be good people and I will continue to feel the pride and joy I feel when I see you being you.

Angelia Ong
29 Sept 2011.

4 thoughts on “I wrote this for my sons today..

Leave a Reply

