Oh looky another update LOL

The office repairs are done, the fish tank has been restored (fingers crossed all will be well again).

I’ve started the boys on an allowance. Each week they earn x amount which we note down in a book. Deductions are made when misbehaving or losing stuff etc. J1 needs to see some physical deductions etc. They still have their moneyboxes for coins etc (and for “special”).

For their bday this year, we’ve decided that they will get money in their boxes instead. I’ve told them since they have so many toys/stuff, we can do it this way and put it in savings. So if they want to save up for something special, it can be a combo of bday/Xmas and their allowance, but they have to do it themselves. The Js are eyeing their own gameboy/nintendo DS/psp but Im not buying that for them, not till older. So I said they can save up for it. I guess Im hoping to teach them to manage money better than I did/do. IF you want it, save for it, work for it. Let’s see how they go. It’s gng to take em a while to save up for it, so the age restriction may be good πŸ˜€

We are taking em on a special outing (either Petrosains or Aquaria- which is so exp) on their bday anyway, no party this year. It’s easier to cope with in a way. πŸ™‚ One wants a party, the other doesnt. (guess which is which eheh). So we compromised on this. They still want a cake. A cake each! I was like, half half design lah.

So with allowances etc in mind, I’ve started asking (well not asking, getting them more like) to do more around the house. Help me with prepping meals, laying the table, taking the plates out. clearing table etc. Putting their clothes away etc. It’s been hit and miss. If there are no distractions, it works better. But they both love to help and for j1, with an added incentive of earning “extra” allowance, he’s been working hard πŸ˜€

This morning he got breakfast (just crackers, he spread it with PB and jam) for himself and brothers. Nothing got broken, it wasn’t too messy. He got out the plates, used a kiddy knife etc. It was a nice surprise πŸ™‚ I asked him how come? he gave me a nice explanation “U told us that you can’t do everything for us all the time anymore, we need to help more. I’m almost 7 you know.” etc etc. Then I waited a while. He then said “Well, I was hungry 2.” hehe But I was glad for his help anyway and praised him accordingly.

Trying to get k to get back into doing his morning chores, he slacked a bit of late, partly cos his brothers dont always do it. We haven’t really given him an allowance (waiting till he’s 6years old). He does love to help, he helps grandma carry shopping, whatever it is. And he loves to help in the kitchen.

When I get my meal plan done, they will take turns helping me in the kitchen. I do need the help and they will do a good job generally. I have to bite down on my impatience and accept that it may take a biiitt longer now but eventually it will speed things up too! πŸ™‚ Ditto for their chores, It may be faster/more efficient if I do it, but heck, it’s time they learnt and I do need the help. So it’s been a learning process for all of us πŸ™‚

We had durian yday at donald’s in ss2 which was nice πŸ™‚ j1 ate like an Ong πŸ™‚ He had more than CuddlyDaddy!! Hehe k prefered to have the mangosteens instead (he used to loooove durian but sometimes it’s mood. He did try a taste here and there so its ok.). j2 did eat but being who he is, he didnt wanna stay in a stall by the road. Complained here and there, whined. Told him he had to stay and try not to put every1 off. He has to learn that malaysians eat everywhere and sometimes the best stuff can be in the most nondescript place.

I guess he’s gotten used to a/c restr. or kopi tiams, time to break him of that tho (not just $$ wise). I’d like em to get used to all sorts of things (not that I’ll take him to dives or something hehe). It’s Malaysian. He’s Malaysian. I guess he likes things clean and bright and he worries about the loo (he tends to need to go pretty soon after eating).

He’ll toughen up. πŸ™‚ J1 likes it and k tends to follow the mood of his brothers. If the food is good etc, he tends to just eat πŸ˜€ Not much messes with his eating LOL In many ways, j1 is more emotionally mature than j2 or rather he grasps “older” concepts and can rationalise much better. J2 tends to be the anxious one who empathises with things he sees and observes. K’s.. a mix of the both with a dose of his own “tai kor” ness. πŸ˜€

They have a classmate’s bday party today, if I can find it! It’s a beach style party with all manner of things. now that be interesting πŸ™‚ K’s “allowed” to come -j2 asked his classmate if he could bring k. She said suure! K has already made friends in the Js school, he’s not afraid of older kids etc. Js classmates think he’s soo cute and wave at him all the time.

Ok, time to get everything ready and head out once they come back from taekwondo!

Have a good week ahead all! πŸ™‚

One thought on “Oh looky another update LOL

  1. When I look at your J1 and J2, they kinda remind me of Micah and Max. Micah is usually more open and quick to accept change. Max is a real creature of habit.

    I totally agree about eating at all kinds of places in Malaysia. That is the real Malaysia.
    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

