I have got a cold among other such ramblings

At the risk of sounding like a wuss, it’s really hampering me in my daily routine. I think I let myself get a bit run down and boom! it hit me, I don’t tend to get sick (can’t afford to! haha) but ugh, all I feel like doing is going to sleep or having a rest. But I can’t. I have three kids, a biz to think of, household things, residents assoc stuff (yes, I’m a committee member of my area committee and the overall residents too. yes, I’m nuts!). But it will get easier πŸ™‚ I’ll get over this cold and our routine will settle down again. Not having a part time helper has been a bigger adjustment I guess but if we all pull together, it will get manageable. I hope it will teach the kids that actions have consequences and responsibilities mean something. If you make a mess, you clean it up or you help with the chores (not for financial compensation alone).

I will quit snivelling now. I took this “horseradish and garlic” tablet thing that is supposed to be a decongestant. Worked pretty good! so Im feeling better! Mind u, ask me this around 8pm tonight and see… LOL

meeting our new ADUN (state assembly rep) tomorrow, that should be interesting! πŸ™‚

I want to get back into a routine, where I know (for the most part) what Im doing each day! Well, sorta. πŸ™‚ I haven’t even begun to look in their playroom while it’s been hit by some major disaster whirlwind of 3 kids whose idea of tidying up is the nearest open space and see how high it can go. Admittedly I haven’t supervised them, have to train lor!

Folks tell me that girls are easier but heck no, I think it’s down to personality (and also expectation)! Mind you, I have three boys but I was once a girl so … no, don’t think it’s a boy/girl thing LOL If I ever do have a daughter, I bet she will be as much of a riot as my lil fellas πŸ™‚ esp with the amount of cars/mechanical thingys around, it would be by osmosis! And no, Im not pregnant! (always have to say this LOL).

the boys have just started swimming lessons (hopefully the weather etc keeps good for their lessons), they love it! even the Mighty K. If he could learn to not do things with his tongue sticking out (that’s his “Im concentrating” look), he’d do a lot better LOL but he loves swimming etc. I got to swim too which is nice and it’s helping j1 overcome his nervousness reg: being weightless in water. The teacher seems pretty good so far and they are very comfortable with him so ok lor.

We’ve been getting our “garden” (ok, there;s no grass but lots of plants in pots etc) sorted out, the guy who washes our cars (doesnt it sound so luxurious hehe) has a brother who does gardening (ahhh nepotism and cronyism, the Malaysian way), he came over yday or the day before and cleared the weeds, repotted old plants, potted the new plants I got (I bought jasmine, hibiscus/bunga raya, pandan). We shifted plants around, finally got rid of that madly spreading banana plant (I have NO idea where that plant came from) and moved the bougainvilla (spelling?) to the gate bit, lined the red bamboo with ixora in pots. Altogether it’s looking more cosy. I managed to get planter pots (long square) to hang over the front side gate bit with gorgeous easy care “lavendar” (no, not the herb) flowers and some cheery yellow flowered creeper plant (yes, Im not one for botany or gardening!). tomorrow when he comes over to wash d’s car, he will help me set up the plants outside. I also managed to get a gorgeous plant that has flowers that smell of vanilla! sooooo nice wei πŸ™‚ Hopefully btwn Car Wash Man and myself, we don’t kill them πŸ˜€

Still toying with the idea of a mini aquarium for the Js bday present. Ren has been making helpful suggestions as to what will be easiest to take care of and all that. They have been plumping for rabbits/hamsters/cats (they aren’t so keen on dogs, due to past experience from other dogs I guess), but I think allergies wise, best not. D will sneeze away and no thanks LOL

I’ve told j1 that the tooth fairy is withholding payment for his tooth cos he’s been wasting soap etc (what is with that boy and soap and playing with water?!) and I want to find that cup that used to hold my toothies back in the day. I know I have it but man, I can’t remember where it is.. ugh my memory is going..

I can’t believe k is going to be 3 next week already. the Mighty K is a toddler no more.. sniff sniff.. but he’s doing well in school and he’s still the independent, loves-his-cuddles, thug boy of mine πŸ™‚ He’s actually said he doesnt want to have a bday party but wants his Superman cake from Auntie Min and just wants to play at Auntie Min’s. so that’s all we are doing, dashing over there after Js extra Mandarin class in the morning, in time for lunch. If it doesnt rain, swimming may be involved πŸ™‚

all ritey, time to get back to the millions of chores that seem to crop up! I’ve promised moomykin that I would try and blog more. I love reading her blog and I miss reading more of Jenn’s blogging. I enjoyed meeting more of the parents who blog last sat for kin’s little bday party. I’m not alone! hehe Although my comments section remain decidedly blank LOL (oh, Kin’s Gadget-daddy will also say Im a “must see if anyone actually comments on my blog” person too!). It’s interesting that he was the first person who got me to get over my techno-fear and how to do html, type, word process etc. He’s the one who encouraged D to join the company πŸ™‚ (he claims sometimes he set up the romance haha). Read Kin’s story of how they courted/met, very interesting πŸ˜‰

All righty, long enough for today. it’s the weekend! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “I have got a cold among other such ramblings

  1. I believe you when you say it’s the kid’ temperament as to how badly-hit-by-a-tornado your hose looks. I am training the boys to put away stuff and until now, most of the time I have to stand there with a cane in hand. Hahaha…

    Regarding a fish tank, I actually feel it’s harder to care for fishes and they die easily when the water is not just right, which is like “Duh? How do you know when it’s just right? You’re not in the tank.” Unless your Car Wash Man or his brother can help you with that too. πŸ˜€ Terapins/ Tortoise maybe a better start. Not so fussy with water, but they do smell a bit. Well, that’s just my 2sen’s worth. Oh now 5sen or else round down to 0sen. Hehe..

    Get well soon. Hope you guys have a ball for K’s birthday. πŸ™‚

  2. hahhaha yes, I must do the same. Stand there with the hands on hips and glare and the “don’t you be playing now” look. They want a pet, terrapins grow too big, not sure abt tortoises, j1 loves those. I told them they have to prove to daddy (and myself) that they are responsible, do their chores or they get nadda. Let’s see if that works. It’s going to be the hardy guppy or fighting fish choice if we get an aquarium lol

    bring em over to our house one day, dear πŸ™‚ (once Im done with this blasted cold) and play play away πŸ™‚ Then I will “close one eye” to the ensuing chaos πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

